Hi, I’m Alison Cunliffe, Wordsmith

 

English: Hands collaborating in co-writing or ...

English: Hands collaborating in co-writing or co-editing or co-teaching in online education. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m one of the lucky ones on this planet.

I love writing, and I love editing, and people are kind enough to pay me to do them, whether it’s creating words on a page or computer screen, or playing around with words that are already there but could say it better.

Yes, people usually call it writing and editing. I call it fun.

I’ve been able to play in all sorts of verbal sandboxes in several decades as a wordsmith.

I spent most of my career at the Toronto Star, Canada’s largest newspaper. These days, I’m editing, especially books, and writing, especially romantic comedy and personal finance (if you can wrap your head around that combination.

I’ve written and/or edited just about every kind of copy there is. In thirty-odd years at the Star, the heavy emphasis was on editing business news and personal finance. Should I be embarrassed to admit I read books on investing for pleasure?

At  times along the way I also ran the Star Probe consumer help column, wrote a column on penny-pinching and another on computers, reviewed books, penned travel articles and covered consumer issues, business news and just about every other subject you can think of. 

I’m currently spending a lot of time editing books, both fiction and non-fiction. Then there’s writing short crime/mystery stories and romance novels and …

Well, let’s not go on forever.

You’ll find a few samples of my writing on this website. Editing, too. And check out what some of my clients have had to say.

If you’d like to talk about the wordsmithing I can do for you, drop me a line at

alisoncunliffe@rogers.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.